build up your chess 1 - Yusupov

  • R 460.00
Tax included.

Yusupov's 9-part series, Boost your chess, Build up your chess and Evolution series is the 2009 winner of the Boleslavsky Medal from FIDE (the World Chess Federation) as the best instructional chess books in the world (ahead of Garry Kasparov and Mark Dvoretsky in 2nd and 3rd place).

This first book in the Build up your Chess series is for chess players who want to build their skills on solid foundations. Yusupov guides the reader towards a higher level of understanding using carefully selected positions and advice. This new understanding is then tested by a series of puzzles.

The covered subjects include:

  1. Mating motifs 
  2. Mating motifs 2
  3. Basic opening principles
  4. Simple pawn endings
  5. Double check
  6. The value of the pieces
  7. The discovered attack
  8. Centralizing the pieces
  9. Mate in two moves 
  10. The opposition 
  11. The pin 
  12. The double attack
  13. Realizing a material advantage 
  14. Open files and Outposts 
  15. Combinations 
  16. Queen against pawn 
  17. Stalemate motifs 
  18. Forced variations 
  19. Combinations involving promotion 
  20. Weak points 
  21. Pawn combinations
  22. The wrong bishop 
  23. Smothered mate 
  24. Gambits

Who should read this book? 
This book comes highly recommended for players with ratings of less than 1100.

The book forms part of a 9-part series that covers (1) the fundamentals, (2) beyond the basics and (3) mastery. For players with ratings of less than 1100 the series offers:

  1. Build up your chess 1
  2. Boost your chess 1
  3. Evolution 1
Social Proof